Want to Travel Abroad?

Travelers can travel to several countries with their borders open. However, keep an eye on the requirements that must be met when arriving.

A number of countries across Europe have opened their borders after weeks of closures to prevent the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Travelers can travel to several countries with their borders open. However, keep an eye on the requirements that must be met when arriving.

Reported from metro.co.uk, here are the countries that have reopened their borders.


Commercial flights for business trips as usual to Albania will reopen from June 15. All EU citizens are eligible to enter Albania.

When arriving at the local airport, all passengers are required by the authorities to pass through the disinfection tunnel and body temperature will be measured.

Anyone with a body temperature higher than 37.5 °C will be interviewed by a doctor on site. Then, there will be a 14-day quarantine for international arrivals


Austria still prohibits anyone travelling outside the Schengen area from entering their country. Even so, the country has reopened its borders to many european countries.

Austria opened its borders with Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and the Czech Republic on June 4, and then reopened its border with Italy on June 16.

There are no restrictions with most EU countries except for travellers from the UK, Sweden, Spain and Portugal who still have to present medical certificates and self-isolation upon arrival.


Borders with countries in the EUROPEAN Union, the UK and four other Schengen countries (Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway) have reopened.

Currently, local authorities only allow individuals to make important trips. However, this policy will change on July 1.


Bulgaria reopened its borders on June 1 to EU countries, the UK, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican, Serbia and citizens of North Macedonia, as well as medical workers and family members of Bulgarian citizens.

However, tourists from Belgium, Portugal, Sweden and the UK had to be exiled for 14 days.


Croatia is currently open to visitors from the EU and UK, with no restrictions or quarantine requirements.


Cyprus allows travel on June 9 for most countries, dividing it into two categories.

Travellers from Category A countries – Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland – face no restrictions.

Meanwhile people from Category B countries – Israel, Poland and Romania – must present a health certificate with a validity period of no more than three days.

Any unregistered country, including the UK, will currently only be allowed to travel on a case-by-case basis, but these restrictions will be reviewed immediately.

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic no longer runs quarantines and people can travel from other countries, but each country will be placed in one of three color categories based on their risk.

If you are thinking of traveling to the Czech Republic, then check what requirements apply to you.


Denmark still imposes quarantines for anyone who does not travel from Germany, Norway and Iceland.


Estonia loosened the quarantine on June 1, and allowed visitors from the UK, EU and Schengen area to travel. However, travel documents and medical results will be checked upon arrival.


Finland has opened its borders to certain countries – including Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

As for UK and Schengen citizens only essential travel is permitted.


Travelers from EU member states as well as Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican have been allowed to visit the country since June 15 with no restrictions on arrivals.

Visitors from Spain and the UK can travel to France provided they undergo voluntary quarantine.


On June 15, Germany lifted its restrictions on travelers coming from the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and the UK.


There is still a travel ban for people from the UK even though Greece has begun allowing travellers from the majority of EU countries back since June 15.


Hungary still imposes restrictions for most countries. However, the country provides exceptions for travelers from Austria, Slovakia, Croatia, czech republic, Slovenia and Serbia.


Iceland lifted its restrictions on EU and UK tourists on June 15. Tourists are tested on arrival and will receive the results by phone within a few hours.


The border is open to visitors, but anyone from anywhere except Northern Ireland must be quarantined for 14 days.


Italy opened its borders on June 3 to citizens of the EU, UK, Schengen area, Andorra and Monaco.. The border also opens with Vatican City and San Marino on this date.

Tourists coming from the above countries do not have to undergo quarantine unless they have been in another country within 14 days before reaching Italy.

Lithuania has lifted its restrictions on citizens from the EU, EEA, Switzerland and the UK as long as the covid-19 event in the country where they live does not exceed 25 cases per 100,000 population in the last 14 days.


Luxembourg has no travel restrictions for countries in Europe.


The country is expected to lift its restrictions starting July 1. On that date, the border will be reopened to travelers from Germany, Austria, Cyprus, Switzerland, the Italian islands of Sicily and Sardinia, Iceland, Slovakia, Norway, Denmark, Hungary, Finland, Ireland, Lithuania, Israel, Latvia, Estonia, Luxembourg, Czech Republic, Italy, France, Poland, Spain, Croatia and Greece.

There has been no update on the trip from the UK.


EU citizens – including British citizens – can now enter the country. Tourists from the UK and Sweden are required to be in exile for 14 days when arriving.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *